Dyro Interview: “To Me It’s Music the Way I Like It”

Dyro-White LOGO

Lend your ears to Dyro (Jordy van Egmond), one of the latest breakthrough producers from Holland. This up-and-coming artist is making soundwaves all across the globe with his powerful original tracks, getting plays from superstar DJs such as Hardwell, Afrojack, David Guetta, Tiësto, Sander van Doorn, Dada Life, and Laidback Luke. The young Dutchman has also been adding his unique touch to some monster tracks and producing remixes for industry heavyweights like Example, R3hab, Morgan Page, Dannic, and more.

Dyro is first and foremost a producer, and has only been DJing for the last 2 years. Yet his onstage vibe and hard-hitting sound have struck a chord with fans and artists alike, catapulting his fledgling career. He has bookings all through Europe, Canada, and a few select US destinations – this rising artist is damn talented and definitely one to watch!

Here are some of our favorite Dyro tracks:

We were lucky enough to learn more about Dyro himself firsthand – check out the interview below:

Talent Rising: To start things off, how did you first get into music, and why did you want to become a DJ?

Dyro: I’ve always been very interested in music. I always wanted to know how they would make music when I was little. As I got older I started experimenting with music and I downloaded FL studio. I always wanted to be a producer and getting the attention I was starting to get resulted in requests to DJ. I’ve been producing for almost 3 years now and I’ve only been DJing for almost a year.

DYRO

TR: How did you come up with the name Dyro?

D: Dyro is actually just my name Jordy rearranged without the J.

TR: Well that’s pretty clever!

TR: Are your parents and friends supportive of what you do?

D: Every good parent just wants the best for their children. Mine where, at first, not very supportive, but now I showed them I could actually do this they are fully supportive.

TR: Who were/are some of your biggest influences?

D: Daft Punk, Hardwell, Dada Life, Tommy Trash, Alesso, Nicky Romero.

TR: How would you describe your sound?

D: I always find it hard to describe it. To me its music the way I like it. It’s all about energy and making people go bananas but still keeping it musical.

TR: 2011 was a great breakout year for you, with the release of your EP and tracks such as Daftastic, Metaphor, Mango, and Raid. How was the ride?

D: It was amazing, I never could have expected all the attention and feedback I’m getting. I’m very grateful for everything that’s happening to me now and I can say that there is a lot more to come. I’m not done at all.

TR: How did you get connected to Hardwell and Revealed Recordings? How did that encounter help you out?

D: It helped me tremendously. Hardwell and Revealed Recordings showed me a lot of support and gave that last push I needed into the scene. I got connected to Hardwell after he played one of my tracks at Electric Zoo NY last year. Not long after that, his label manager called me saying they wanted to sign three tracks.

TR: You have also done remixes for some big names, such as Hardwell, R3hab, Afrojack, and Katy Perry. How do you tackle remixing versus producing original tracks?

D: Honestly I have a little trouble with that. There are so many remix requests coming in that I need to refuse half of them and still there are a lot. I see them all as big opportunities and I want to do as much as possible which results in less attention for my original [tracks]. I’m fixing it at the moment though. I haven’t been accepting a lot of remixes lately and I finished over 5 new originals.

TR: What is one of the craziest things you have experienced while on tour?

D: One time after my set I discovered my jacket had been stolen from underneath the DJ booth, when I walked out of the club, I saw this girl wearing MY jacket and hers was stolen as well so she took mine…I got it back in the end but that was a strange experience!

TR: What are some of your personal highlights and drawbacks of touring?

D: The Revealed on tour gigs are always a lot of fun and my last gig at Scream Edmonton 2012 was amazing!

TR: What is your favorite part of being a DJ/Producer?

D: Being able to show your talent to a big crowd. The feeling of playing your new creation for thousands of people for the first time is an amazing feeling.

TR: What are some the difficulties of being a DJ/Producer that most fans would’t know?

D: Traveling, I have a hard time keeping up with my jet lags, but I’m slowly getting used to it.

TR: When you are not playing shows, what do you do for fun? Do you like to go out/party in Holland?

D: Hanging out with friends, traveling. I’m not going out that much anymore because that’s all that I see all week.

TR: How do you stay up-to-date on what other artists/DJs are doing in the industry?

D: Connection with them. Reading blogs and talking to fans.

DYRO CROWD

TR: What is one thing you know now that you wish you would have known before you started your career?

D: How hard it is to get a VISA for the USA.

TR: What project are you currently working on that you are most excited about? And what new tracks should your fans be looking out for?

D: I did a smashing remix for Tiesto that should be out soon. Next to that there are a lot of original coming up that are smashing too!

TR: It would be great to see you perform over here on the west coast, any plans of coming to LA any time soon? Any US tour dates scheduled?

D: Nothing scheduled yet. It’s important for me to first get my VISA and then start scheduling stuff. I love LA though, and I would love to play there one day!

Be sure to keep an eye out on my Twitter, Facebook and Soundcloud.

TR: We would like to thank you for your time and sharing your experience with us; we really dig the electrifying energetic Dyro sound, and we are excited to see what lies ahead for you as a rising artist!

 

 

By: Angelo Castañeda

This entry was posted in DJ, Music and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

